Friday, January 29, 2021

Research projects presented by graduate students during the Symposium include the following:


Daniyal Kiani:
Synthesis and Structure of Model Silica-supported Na-doped Tungsten oxide Catalysts for Oxidative Coupling of Methane (OCM)

Benjamin Moskowitz:
Structure-activity relationships in the conversion of ethanol to 1,3-butadiene over supported ZnO/ZrO2/SiO2 catalysts



Eli Ream:
Direct Conversion of Ethylene to Propylene through Simultaneous Ethylene Dimerization and Olefin



John Sakizadeh:
Ligand Exchange Mediated Assembly of a Biomineralized Nanocomposite Photocatalyst



Lohit Sharma:
High selectivity tin modified γ-alumina for propane dehydrogenation under H2S co-feed



Manoj Silva:
Transition metal-doped MgO nanoparticles for nutrient recycling: an alternate Mg source for struvite synthesis from wastewater



Erin Sobchinsky:
Ethylene Dimerization to n-Butene with Nickel Sulfate on Zirconia: Investigation of the Molecular Structure and Activity of Surface Nickel and Sulfate Species



Sagar Sourav:
OCM Reaction Pathways over Supported Na2WO4/SiO2 Catalysts



Tiancheng Pu:
Unraveling the Reactivity of Ethylene with Oxygen Species on/in Silver Catalysts



Bin Zhang:
Tuning the Surface Active Sites by Surface Modification of Supported ReO4/(SiO2-Al2O3) Catalysts for Olefin Metathesis




Yuyu Yao:
Dynamic modeling and predictive control of cardiovascular system using vagal nerve stimulation



Christopher Rzepa:
Computational Investigation of Correlations in Adsorbate Entropy for Pure-Silica Zeolite Adsorbents




Shannon Collins:
Outer Membrane Vesicles as Therapeutic Delivery Vehicles



Shivani Desai:
Rheological characterization of covalent adaptable thioester networks



Ziang Li:
Toxin-Triggered Vehicle for Controlled Delivery of Antibiotics



John McGlynn:
Human mesenchymal stem cell-engineered length scale dependent rheology of the pericellular region measured with bi-disperse multiple particle tracking microrheology



Nan Wu:
Microrheological characterization of covalent adaptable hydrogel degradation in response to temporal pH changes that mimic the gastrointestinal tract




Hao Dong:
Lubricated Sliding Friction Enhancement for Soft Materials with an Embedded Mesh Structure (EMS)



Jinghui Gao:
The fabrication of magnetic Janus particles



Shiqin He:
Characterizing the rheological properties for both polydisperse and monodisperse colloidal rod systems



Nur Ozdemir:
Scalable biomineralization of CdS quantum dots by immobilized cystathionine γ-lyase



Kunli Yang:
Electrochemical Production of NH3 Using Proton-Conducting Ceramic Electrolytes




6th Annual Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Graduate Student Symposium

Friday, January 29, 2021


8:00 – 8:15 AM
Welcome and Introduction
Mayuresh Kothare, Department Chair, and
Chemical Engineering Symposium Committee

8:15 – 8:45 AM
Francis DeVecchis
Director of Talent Acquisition, Merck

8:45 - 9:45 AM
Discussion: How do you get a job in industry?

9:45 – 10:15 AM
Hamid Mehdizadeh
Director, Digital Manufacturing Intelligence, Pfizer

10:15 – 11:15 AM
Discussion: Research in the Chemical Engineering Department at Lehigh University

11:15 – 11:45 AM
Dr. Elsa Reichmanis, Professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair in Chemical Engineering, Lehigh University

11:45 – 12:00 PM Closing Remarks
Chemical Engineering Symposium Committee