Samuel L. Gulden Memorial Award

The Samuel L. Gulden Award is made annually by vote of the CSE faculty to a senior who has demonstrated outstanding achievement in the study of algorithms and/or theoretical computer science. The award consists of a $250 prize and a framed certificate.

The award was established in 2010 by the CSE faculty in memory of the late Samuel L. Gulden. Professor Gulden joined Lehigh as an instructor of Mathematics in 1953 and rose through the ranks to become a full Professor of Mathematics. From 1979 to 1982 he chaired the Division of Computer and Information Science in the Department of Mathematics. From 1983 until his death he held a joint appointment in the Mathematics Department and the Computer Science and Engineering Department. Professor Gulden was instrumental in bringing Computer Science to Lehigh. Building on the Information Systems program, then housed in the Department of Philosophy, he shaped the curriculum that, in its broad outlines, is still in place today. Professor Gulden served as a full-time faculty member for 52 years.

Chanh "Sam" Nguyen

2017 Gulden Award recipient 
Professor Daniel Lopresti and Chanh "Sam" Nguyen

Tamara Hass and Adam Kafka

2016 Gulden Award recipients 
Tamara Hass, Professor Daniel Lopresti and Adam Kafka

Matthew Kilgore

2015 Gulden Award recipient 
Matthew Kilgore

Tyler Trephan

2014 Gulden Award recipient 
Tyler Trephan and Professor Daniel Lopresti

Logan McNamara

2013 Gulden Award recipient 
Logan McNamara and Professor Daniel Lopresti

Wyatt Pierson

2012 Gulden Award recipient 
Wyatt Pierson and Professor Daniel Lopresti

Justin Sonntag

2011 Gulden Award recipient 
Justin Sonntag and Professor Daniel Lopresti