Celebrating Lehigh ISE Students, Alumni, Staff, and Faculty

On Thursday, May 2, 2024, the Lehigh Industrial and Systems Engineering (ISE) Department held its annual Awards Ceremony in Mohler Laboratory. It is our pleasure to announce and celebrate the achievements of our students, alumni, staff, and faculty. The first award below was given by the Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science on May 6th.

  2024 Rossin Citizenship Award

Robert H. StorerProfessor Robert H. Storer has won the 2024 Rossin Citizenship Award. This award recognizes a Rossin college faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding citizenship to Lehigh University, the Rossin College, and their own Department/Unit.

Bob has been a faculty member for 38 years. Throughout his career Bob has served the Department, College, and University with dedication, and selflessness. He has given the highest priority to the best interests of our students, advising over 100 students every year. Some of his notable accomplishments include being Co-Director of the Integrated Business and Engineering (IBE) Honor’s Program for 24 years and Co-Developer of the Financial Engineering Master’s Program. Bob is a champion of service at Lehigh, having served on a multitude of committees. Bob managed to do all this while being a devoted teacher and great researcher. Congratulations Bob!

  2024 Lehigh ISE Distinguished Alumni Award

Christine Burke, Executive Director at Morgan Stanley is the recipient of the 2024 Lehigh ISE Distinguished Alumni Award for Excellence in Industry. Christine Burke is an Executive Director at Morgan Stanley where she is currently a Resilience governance leader, after holding leadership positions in Operations, Technology, Cyber Security and Trading Christine engages in a multiplicity of work-related activities, from steering cyber-philanthropy and delivering math classes to promoting diversity and inclusion in K-12 schools. We are very proud to have Christine as a member of our ISE Advisory Council where we are inspired by her talent, dedication, and commitment. Congratulations Christine!



  2024 Lawrence E. White Fellowship

Lauren Schultz is the recipient of the 2024 Lawrence E. White Fellowship for a Master’s in Management Science and Engineering. This fellowship is made available through the generosity of Lehigh ISE alumnus Lawrence E. White (’64, ’65, ’69) for a full tuition towards 30 credits of master’s degree study. Lauren is an ISE major interested in the fields of supply chain management and data analytics. She is an active member of the Lehigh Department of Theater. Congratulations Lauren!



  2024 Van Hoesen Family Best Publication Award

Thaksheel N. Alleck is the recipient of the eighth annual Van Hoesen Family Best Publication Award. This award inspires students to publish influential research, software tools, and applications, and was made available through a generous gift of Everett Van Hoesen ‘55.  Thaksheel will receive a $1,250 monetary prize for his paper “Why is Soccer so Popular: Understanding Underdog Achievement and Randomness in Team Ball Sports”, co-authored with Professors Luis Nunes Vicente and Tommaso Giovannelli and Undergraduate Students Roman Mitchell and Ori Remen. Thaksheel is a junior IBE undergraduate pursuing a double major in ISE and Marketing (with a minor in Data Science). Congratulations Thaksheel!


 2024 Lehigh ISE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Award

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award recognizes members of the Lehigh ISE Community who have shown exemplary commitment, leadership, and service to the advancement of the ISE DEI goals during the current academic year. Our 2024 awardees are:


Miki Sakai is a junior undergraduate student pursuing a degree in ISE with minors in Business and Data Science. Miki co-leads the outreach subcommittee within the Lehigh’s Society for Women in Engineering (SWE), where she has expanded the offering of programs conducted by SWE with middle-schoolers by developing and running multiple successful and engaging engineering and science-related after-school programs at Broughal Middle School. Congratulations Miki!




Professor Karmel S. Shehadeh is an Assistant Professor at Lehigh ISE. Karmel has been a champion for the undergraduate research projects in the Lehigh ISE Outreach Program by serving as advisor of five teams with underrepresented students on projects for this program. Karmel has also, since 2020, served as presenter and faculty mentor for members of Lehigh CHOICES attending Spring and Summer Camps for middle school girls. Congratulations Karmel!



2024 MIT Supply Chain Excellence Award

Each year MIT presents its Supply Chain Excellence Award to outstanding graduating seniors from Lehigh. The awards recognize  students’   potential for leadership in supply chain management and provide tuition scholarships for the MIT Supply Chain Management Master’s   Program after a minimum of two years’ work experience in the supply chain sector. Winners were selected based on personal statements   and on their academic excellence at Lehigh.

Grace Kolbe is the recipient of the 2024 MIT Supply Chain Excellence Award. Grace is a senior studying ISE with minors in Engineering Leadership and Supply Chain Management. Grace is a member of the Lehigh Women’s Cross Country and Track and Field teams and will graduate with the highest honors. After graduation, Grace will join Becton Dickinson in their Global Procurement Development Program. Congratulations Grace!




2024 Lehigh ISE Student, Staff, and Faculty of the Year Awards

Lehigh ISE is honored to announce the following awards in recognition and appreciation of students, staff, and   faculty, for their achievements throughout the 2023-2024 academic year. The department congratulates these students, staff, and faculty and thanks them for their contributions and dedication to the Lehigh ISE Department.

  • Industrial and Systems Engineering Sophomore of the Year: Olivia Newman
  • IBE Industrial and Systems Engineering Sophomore of the Year: Ruhi Tawde
  • IBE Financial Engineering Sophomore of the Year: Darin Gulibon
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering Junior of the Year: Melissa Caracciolo
  • IBE Industrial and Systems Engineering Junior of the Year: Thaksheel N. Alleck
  • IBE Financial Engineering Junior of the Year: Michael Jamesley
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering Senior of the Year: Brooke Cannon
  • IBE Industrial and Systems Engineering Senior of the Year: Owen Brown
  • IBE Financial Engineering Senior of the Year: Kellia Nguyen
  • Industrial and Systems Engineering Master’s Student of the Year: Hiral Patel
  • Management Science and Engineering Master’s Student of the Year: Josie Charles
  • Healthcare Systems Engineering Master’s Student of the Year: Amanda Curry and Pilar Klin
  • Financial Engineering Master’s Student of the Year: Gregory Colonescu
  • ISE Ph.D. Student of the Year: Griffin Kent and Qi Wang
  • Staff Member of the Biennium: Sheila Dorney and Mark Motsko
  • Undergraduate Faculty Member of the Year: Professor Gregory L. Tonkay
  • Master’s Faculty Member of the Year: Professor Ana I. Alexandrescu
  • Ph.D. Faculty Member of the Year: Professor Daniel P. Robinson