P.C. Rossin College of
Engineering and Applied Science

The Chemical Engineering Graduate Student Association (ChEGA) held their 4th Annual Graduate Research Symposium on September 27-28, 2018 at the Ben Franklin Tech Ventures. The symposium featured a keynote lecture given by invited speaker Dr. Mark Weislogel from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Portland State University; five graduate student oral presentations, and 24 research posters.

The symposium began with an opening poster session, with pizza, on the evening of Thursday, September 27, and was followed by a full day of technical presentations on Friday, September 28, ending with a cocktail reception.

A total of 21 participants from 14 industries attended the symposium, along with faculty and graduate students from the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

The symposium recognized students for outstanding posters and departmental graduate student awards. The award winners are listed below:


  • Best posters at the symposium: John McGlynn, Nan Wu, and En Hyung (Tony) Chang.


  • Rossin Doctoral Fellows: Shannon Collins, John Sakizadeh, Nur Ozdemir, Samira Anbari
  • Leonard Wenzel Award for best performance in PhD qualifying exam: John McGlynn, Daniyal Kiani
  • Chevron Travel Grant: Elnaz Boroujeni, Maryam Daviran, Nicole Moyle
  • John Chen Graduate Fellowship: Gregory Dignon
  • Kenneth A. Earhart Award: Samira Anbari

The symposium Chairs were Shannon Collins, Maryam Daviran, Megha Sharma. The assistant symposium chairs are John Sakizadeh, John McGlynn, and Samira Anbari.