The annual Rossin College Awards ceremony was held on Monday, May 8, 2023 in the Iacocca Wood Dining Hall to celebrate the achievements and dedication of the College faculty and staff who support research and educational excellence across Lehigh's engineering community. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering (ChBE) had four award recipients this year from their department. 

(pictured left to right: Schultz, Brown, Lenhart; omitted Snyder)

Angela Brown: Interdisciplinary Research Excellence Award
This award recognizes a Rossin college faculty member who has clearly reached beyond their discipline to collaborate and develop significant research opportunities and partnerships while maximizing the impact of current research at Lehigh.
Brown is an exceptional researcher who has made conscious efforts to work across disciplines to increase the impact of her work. She works on projects with researchers in her own department, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, in Chemistry and in English and Journalism. Collaborations with Brown and her group are not only highly successful and productive but are also effortless.
Jamie Lenhart: Excellence in Undergraduate Student Support Award
This award recognizes a Rossin college staff member who is committed to providing outstanding support and guidance to our undergraduate students. Staff members honored with this award will have created a positive, welcoming environment where students feel comfortable seeking assistance with academic and non-academic issues.
While her time at Lehigh is short, her impact is widespread. The department has not had such energy, degree of organization, and high level of communication all while physically moving the department between, campuses, witnessing several unanticipated staff changes, and working the way through the sunset of a pandemic. People who "lead from behind" often don't get recognized. These are individuals who are selfless and have the intellect to anticipate and guide the actions of those around them. In academia, this is often equated with "herding cats" whether guiding undergraduates or the faculty within the program. Lenhart does this all, and more with grace.
Kelly Schultz: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award
This award recognizes a Rossin college faculty member who has shown passion and effectiveness in promoting equity, inclusion and Diversity in Rossin College and their own Department/Unit.
As Co-Chair of the Rossin Diversity Council, Schultz has made outstanding contributions to enhancing diversity, equity, and inclusion. She has dedicated much of her time over the last decade participating, leading, and initiating committees and programs that improve DEI at many levels at Lehigh and beyond in the local community. 
Mark Snyder: Citizenship Award
This award recognizes a Rossin college faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding citizenship to Lehigh University, the Rossin College, and their own Department/Unit.
Snyder always goes above and beyond to help students, faculty, and staff within the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering as well as throughout the college. His citizenship extends to all aspects of his work – teaching, research, and service.

Congratulations to ChBE and all 2023 award winners! Learn more about the other recognitions. 

Angela Brown
Associate Professor
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Jamie Lenhart
Undergraduate Coordinator
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Kelly Schultz
Associate Professor
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

Mark A. Snyder
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering