Every year, Lehigh University recognizes faculty and staff members for demonstrating outstanding accomplishments in research, teaching and service. This year, two CHBE faculty members will receive awards at the 2018 Faculty and Staff Appreciation Dinner on May 10, 2018.

Dr. Jonas Baltrusaitis, the P. C. Rossin Assistant Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering is this year's recipient of the Libsch Early Career Research Award. The award recognizes early career faculty members (tenure track faculty within about 10 years of their PhD) who have demonstrated the potential for high-quality research and scholarship done at Lehigh University.

Dr. Baltrusaitis joined Lehigh University in August 2014, after two years on the faculty of University of Twente in the Netherlands. He received his PhD in Chemistry from the University of Iowa (2007), his MS (2000) and BS (1998), both in Chemical Engineering from Kaunas University of Technology in Lithuania. His research interests are in the areas of sustainable chemical processes, catalysis, nutrient recovery from waste and their efficient management.

Dr. Steven McIntosh, the Class of 1961 Associate Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering is this year's recipient of the Hillman Award for Excellence in Graduate Advising. This award recognizes exemplary graduate student advising defined as either: a) Guiding students through their exploration and pursuit of an academic course of study; or b) Assisting students in the development and/or completion of research related to their degree program. Only current graduate students are permitted to submit nominations for this award.

Dr. Steven McIntosh joined Lehigh in 2010 after four years on the faculty of the University of Virginia. He received his B.Eng. in Chemical Engineering from the University of Edinburgh, his MS and PhD also in Chemical Engineering from the University of Pennsylvania, and was a Marie Curie Intra-European Postdoctoral Fellow at the University of Twente. He is the Associate Director of the Lehigh Interdisciplinary Research Institute for Functional Materials and Devices, a recipient of the NSF CAREER award, a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, an associate editor of the RSC Advances, and editor of RSC Specialist Periodical Reports: Electrochemistry. His research interests are materials chemistry, electrochemistry, nanotechnology, and catalysis with a focus on developing new materials and environmentally benign synthesis routes for application in green energy related technologies including fuel cells and solar cells.