Elsa Reichmanis, Professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair in Chemical Engineering in Lehigh University’s P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, a highly regarded national honor society.

Reichmanis is an internationally recognized expert in the field of microlithography. She has made wide-ranging contributions in the design and development of polymer/organic materials and processes for advanced electronics and photonics.

The Academy, which was founded in 1780 by John Adams, John Hancock, and other scholars and leaders of the time, “recognizes and celebrates the excellence of its members” while serving as an “independent research center convening leaders from across disciplines, professions, and perspectives to address significant challenges,” according to its website.

In 2024, more than 1,250 nominations were considered and 250 new members were recognized across 31 areas of expertise, including STEM fields, social sciences, arts and humanities, and policy and communications.

“I am truly humbled by this honor, and would like to thank all of my colleagues and collaborators who have provided valuable insights and guidance throughout my career,” says Reichmanis, who was elected into the Engineering and Technology section of the Academy’s Mathematical and Physical Sciences class.

“This is an outstanding and well-deserved honor for a superlative researcher, dedicated educator, and simply outstanding colleague, whose list of accolades continues to grow," says Steven McIntosh, Zisman Family Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and chair of the ChBE department.

Reichmanis' achievements include membership in the National Academy of Engineering and awards from the American Chemical Society (ACS) and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE) in recognition of her research contributions and her dedication to teaching and mentoring students. She was most recently honored through a special virtual edition of the journal Chemistry of Materials and the ACS Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences Award.

Induction ceremonies for new members of the Academy will be held in September 2024 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Elsa Reichmanis

Elsa Reichmanis, Professor and Carl Robert Anderson Chair in Chemical Engineering at Lehigh University