Arindam Banerjee and Carlos Romero

Research RecognitionArindam Banerjee (pictured, left), John Coulter, and Carlos Romero (right) have been named as Fellows of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).

Banerjee is professor and chair of the department of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics. Romero serves as Director and Principal Research Scientist of Lehigh's Energy Research Center.

Coulter, a member of Mechanical Engineering, is Senior Associate Dean for Research for the Rossin College.

John Coulter

John Coulter, Rossin College senior associate dean for research, is the new chair-elect of the Engineering Research Council (ERC) of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE). He began serving on June 1 of this year.

Coulter, a long-time professor of mechanical engineering and mechanics with current research interests that include polymer processing and additive manufacturing, is currently serving his second consecutive three-year term on the ERC board of directors. He joined the board in 2017. The ERC, which comprises representatives from engineering colleges, industry, and government, discusses issues and exchanges information pertaining to the research activities of ASEE society members.

“Serving on the ERC helps keep Lehigh informed about engineering research issues and connected with other institutions on the national level,” says Coulter, who oversees the operation and continuous enhancement of engineering research throughout the university. “I truly enjoy our work and look forward to continuing my service as chair-elect.”

Dan M. Frangopol

Dan M. Frangopol has been elected into the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) as an International Fellow for “the creation, development, and application of life-cycle engineering under uncertainty.”

The academy was founded in 1987 and comprises more than 800 peer-nominated Fellows who have “made outstanding contributions to engineering in Canada and around the world” and have “demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles to advance social, environmental, economic and technical solutions,” according to CAE’s website.

Frangopol, the Fazlur R. Khan Endowed Chair of Structural Engineering and Architecture and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, is generally regarded as a pioneer and a world leader in research on life-cycle performance analysis, design, and optimization of civil and marine structures under uncertainty.

Elsa Reichmanis

Elsa Reichmanis (ChBE) is the 2022 recipient of the John M. Prausnitz AIChE Institute Lecturer Award, which recognizes her long-term accomplishments as a senior chemical engineering faculty member.

Reichmanis, an acclaimed polymer chemist, member of the National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, and AIChE Fellow, is widely regarded as a groundbreaking researcher and pioneer in the world of microlithography. Her work cuts across the fields of chemical engineering, chemistry, materials science, optics, and electronics.

She will give the lecture (described by AIChE as "a comprehensive authoritative review of the chemical engineering science" in the award recipient's field of specialization) this fall during the 2022 AIChE Annual Meeting, set for November 13-18 in Phoenix.

Arup K. SenGupta

Arup K. SenGupta (CEE/ChBE) was honored for his wide-ranging contributions to water science and technology and expanding access to safe drinking water through a three-day symposium on “Ion Exchange, Sustainable Separations & Humanitarian Engineering” at the Spring 2022 meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The symposium honored “SenGupta’s research contributions to water chemistry, water/wastewater treatment, and protection of water resources, but also celebrate his extension of that knowledge to safeguard the drinking water quality for people in poor communities around the world.”

SenGupta, a highly regarded researcher, educator, author, and inventor, is a professor in the departments of civil and environmental engineering and chemical and biomolecular in Lehigh University’s P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science. Over his extensive career, he has distinguished himself as “one of the world’s foremost experts in environmental applications of ion-exchange processes,” while also making significant contributions to the “understanding of Donnan-based processes, ligand exchange, and other environmental separation processes through his research, books, patents, and humanitarian work,” according to the symposium description.

Photo credits:

  • Arindam Banerjee & Carlos Romero photos courtesy of Ryan Hulvat/Meris
  • Dan Frangopol photo courtesty of David W. Coulter Photography
  • Elsa Reichmanis courtesy of Stephanie Veto/Lehigh University
  • John Coulter and Arup Sengupta photos courtesy of Lehigh University