A novel way to watch paint dry

It’s often the first thing we notice about a vehicle, and it reveals a lot: how new (or not) the vehicle is, how it’s been cared for, where it’s been driven. 

“Consumers are extremely picky regarding the quality of the paint job on any car they purchase, new or old, and the 10- to 20-year appearance of a car depends on 10 to 20 critical minutes of application and drying,” says James Gilchrist, a professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering at Lehigh University’s P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science. 

Fine-tuning catalysts at the nanoscale

It’s nice when you aim for a goal, and in the process of achieving it, nail another unexpected but significant target.

“We were just trying to generate a catalyst that would more efficiently make the product we desired,” says Christopher Kiely, the Harold B. Chambers Senior Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Lehigh University’s P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science. “Using less precious metal in the final catalyst material was a fortunate and unanticipated outcome.”

Mapping energy transport mechanism of chalcogenide perovskite for solar energy use

For solar cells to be widely used in the coming decades researchers must resolve two major challenges: increasing efficiency and lowering toxicity.

Solar energy works through a process that converts light into energy called the photovoltaic effect. Certain light sensitive materials when packaged together in a “cell” have the ability to convert energy from light into electricity.